1956: Peter Thomson wins The Open Championship for the third year in a row


1956 Open Championship at Royal Liverpool Golf Club 

Australia’s Peter Thomson made history on this day by winning The Open Championship three times consecutively. His first win came in 1954 when The Open was hosted at Royal Birkdale, he held off Bobby Locke to shoot -9 under, 283. In 1955, The Open was hosted at the Old Course at St. Andrews where Thomson shot a -7 under, 281 for his second Claret Jug. This time the stage was the Royal Liverpool Golf Club in Holyoke, England and he was poised to join a very exclusive club if he would win.

The Open Championship has been played since 1860 and over the 150+ years only four men have won The Open three times consecutively. Young Tom Morris of course won it in 1868, 1869, & 1870. St. Andrews native, Jamie Anderson did it in 1877, 1878, & 1879. Scotsman Bob Ferguson also achieved the feat in 1880, 1881, and 1882. Thomson holds the distinction of being the only man to win The Open Championship three times in a row since it has been played a 72 hole tournament.

Although Thomson was four over par on his final round he still eased to victory by three strokes. It was his first two consistent rounds of 70 that put him at the top of the leaderboard early. Flory Von Donck of Belgium was the runner-up ending with a 289.  Argentina’s Roberto De Vincenzo finished in third place with a 290.  Gary Player who lead the qualifier with Thomson finished in fourth place with a 291.  Henry Cotton, who won twenty years prior finished in 6th place at the age of 49.  Newspapers estimated that there was 8,000 strong following Thomson on the final holes down the stretch.  Thomson received ₤1,000 for the victory along with the familiar Claret Jug.

Subscribe to Golf History Today

Click to receive instant desktop notifications
February 2019
« Jan    

Sign Up with Email

Subscribe to Golf History Today for FREE content & Daily Golf History

1 Comment

Leave a Reply