1949 Masters: The Green Jacket is first presented at The Masters

green jacket

The 1949 Masters stands out for many reasons but the most iconic, is the signature members Green Jacket.  The 1949 tournament is when the Green Jacket was first awarded to the winner, which was Sam Snead.  Former Player of the Year, Ben Hogan wouldn’t participate in any of the majors in 1949 due to a car accident in February.

That year the club also awarded jackets retroactively to the nine men who had won the previous 12 tournaments. Smith won twice, in ’34 and 1936. The other winners: Gene Sarazen, Byron Nelson (twice), Henry Picard, Ralph Guldahl, Jimmy Demaret (twice), Craig Wood, Herman Keiser, and Claude Harmon.

Sam Snead got off to a lack luster start with rounds of 73 & 75 while trailing leader Herman Kasier by 5 strokes. Snead shot consecutive rounds of 67 on the weekend to win by three strokes over runners-up Johnny Bulla and Lloyd Mangrum. This was the first of his three Masters victories and the third of his seven major championships.

Subscribe to Golf History Today

Click to receive instant desktop notifications

Sign Up with Email

Subscribe to Golf History Today for FREE content & Daily Golf History

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply